Gocco Crazy

Last year for my birthday, Jeff bought me a Gocco printer so I could play around with printing my fabrics to add dimensions.  I’ve been a bit afraid of it, but last week (one year later) we broke it out for a test run.

In case you haven’t heard of Gocco, as I hadn’t one year ago, it’s this little plastic printer from Japan.  If you google it, you will find it has sort of a cult following among crafters and artists.  It really is easy to do – basically you draw the image you want to print, and put it in the little slot, and when you press down on the screen, two lightbulbs flash and imprint the image onto a screen.  Then, you take that screen that you just burned, and ink it up and print on whatever you want.  Pretty cool, huh? It takes some practice, but between my trusty, artsy man and me, we did pretty good! Looky:

Here's the little yellow plastic Gocco. You place the fabric on the little pad, and the screen goes into that little window you see.

Black fabric ink I bought at the downtown art supply store.

Jeff puts the ink on the bird image in the screen. That little squiggle of foam keeps the ink from bleeding out to the edges.

here are all the practice presses on different fabrics. Looks pretty good I think!

Ta-Da!

These long and lean tanks are now up on my etsy site if you want one for yourself!

0 Responses to “Gocco Crazy”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

