Project Runway Moment

If you sew, maybe you’ve seen the pattern sharing/sewing website Burda Style.  I hop on there from time to time to see what other people are sewing, and to look at patterns.  They offer some of their patterns for free, and some you pay for, but they’re really affordable.  You can print them out at home on your own printer, then you have to do this crazy taping thing to stick it all together, trace it onto tissue, and voila!

Well, they do contests from time to time and it never really occured to me to enter, but then a couple of weeks ago, I noticed a pretty cool one.  It’s to make your version of one of their patterns, a simple, pleated A-line skirt.  I put it in the back of my mind, but last night they sent an email saying it was the last day to enter, and I just thought, why not?? So I started going through my stash, and came up with an idea.  I have this beautiful cotton sateen, and I found a vintage silk scarf in my dresser that coordinated beautifully.  Then I found some copper colored lining, and added black stretch lace that I ruffled to the hem of the underskirt.  I cut it out late last night, and then today I sewed it, photographed it, and submitted my entry.

Pheeww!

Who knows what will happen, but it’s out there in the world.  The best thing about the contest (and a big reason to enter) is that the judge is Wenlan Chia – Twinkle herself.  If she likes it, I could win a new sewing machine! or fabric! or her new sewing book!

Any of the above would be just fine with me.  Start working the Jedi mind trick for me!

Here’s what I sent off:

A plus A line Anne Mettee

4 Responses to “Project Runway Moment”


  1. 1 Elizabeth Price October 15, 2009 at 5:52 pm

    Gorgeous skirt!

  2. 3 Elizabeth October 16, 2009 at 1:20 pm

    Love it!! Good luck.

  3. 4 Melinda October 18, 2009 at 6:27 pm

    It’s a wonderful skirt Anne. Good luck!


Leave a Reply

