A Fourth of July Birthday

Just a few images to share from Ryland’s 8th birthday – there are many more of our cookout, games, sparklers and friends, but today I feel like sharing just a few sweet ones:

Look at this sweet card from Holt!  Just a piece of cardboard from the recycle bin, and she cut up some pretty paper and glued on the flowers.  I love the time that she put into this.  She and I collaborated on the mini tote bag made from sewing room floor scraps to hold the 2 packs of gum that Holt bought (with her own money!) from the Korean market.

Look at this sweet card from Holt! Just a piece of cardboard from the recycle bin, and she cut up some pretty paper and glued on the flowers. I love the time that she put into this. She and I collaborated on the mini tote bag made from sewing room floor scraps to hold the 2 packs of gum that Holt bought (with her own money!) from the Korean market.

Here is her little pile of gifts - a very cool coloring/activity book that I need to show you sometime, a felted purple fairy that she longed for at the last Howard Street Handmade (I was so sneaky and traded a girl's sundress for this, then hid it for a month!), a whole pack of roasted seaweed for herself (she loves the stuff), an outfit I made her for her American girl doll, and best of all, the pink parasol that she's always wanted.

Here is her little pile of gifts - a very cool coloring/activity book that I need to show you sometime, a felted purple fairy that she longed for at the last Howard Street Handmade (I was so sneaky and traded one of my Hazel Anne sundress for this, then hid it for a month!), a whole pack of roasted seaweed for herself (she loves the stuff), an outfit I made her for her American girl doll, and best of all, the pink parasol that she's always wanted.

In all its glory, here is the longed for Pink Parasol!  (only 10 bucks at the Korean Market - shhhhh!)

In all its glory, here is the longed for Pink Parasol! (only 10 bucks at the Korean Market - shhhhh!)

and of course, gluten free cupcakes.  I made 4 batches of these - 2 white cake and 2 chocolate, with this amazing chocolate ganache on top, and then we sprinkled on toasted coconut, mini chocolate chips, and slivers of almonds.  oh, I wish there were leftovers still...

and of course, gluten free cupcakes. I made 4 batches of these - 2 white cake and 2 chocolate, with this amazing chocolate ganache on top, and then we sprinkled on toasted coconut, mini chocolate chips, and slivers of almonds. oh, I wish there were leftovers still...

Here’s to pretty, simple birthdays…

0 Responses to “A Fourth of July Birthday”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

