An (new) Old Washboard

Presumably I got the grammar wrong on that title, it looks wrong either way I type it (an? a?),  but that’s not the point of this post, so let’s look beyond my English frailties and move onto more exciting thoughts…

The other day we went out to some antique stores/ flea market type places in our town to look for kitchen chairs.  We’ve got loads of these places in our town, but my current favorite is Oddfellows, because the owners are so nice (and they have hired me in the past to recover old couch cushions – a pretty fun gig!).

(Ok, here is where I was going to give you a link to them, but I can’t find a website URL so I’ll just tell you that they are on 124 Swannanoa River Rd in Asheville. Big brick building, loads of fun stuff.)

Anyways… of all the fantastic bits of history in that place, this is what I could not leave there without:

a weathered old washboard, of course! HAD TO HAVE IT.

a weathered old washboard, of course! HAD TO HAVE IT.

Because not only is the wood super soft and smooth after all that scrubbing of dirties over the years, but:

Honestly! Who dipped their brush into this glorious paint and embellished such a utilitarian piece?

Honestly! Who dipped their brush into this glorious paint and embellished such a utilitarian piece?

That little bit of neon orange? Just perfect.  I look at it and see this image printed onto fabric over and over.  It’s worth a try, but no way will my efforts with screen printing ever look as good as this crooked old washboard.

I don’t know what I’ll do with it yet.  Declan honestly thought I’d be trading in my Whirlpool for this lovely, but I think I’ll just find a way to hang it in my studio for days when I need inspiration.

0 Responses to “An (new) Old Washboard”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

