All Natural Pattern Weights

How many of you have tried to make clothing from those tissue patterns?  You try to pin the tissue to the fabric before you cut, but stuff shifts, the tissue tears, messy messy.

Want a solution? Years ago when I worked in a production room for a handbag designer, I noticed that on tuesdays, when the cutter would come in, he used these heavy weights to hold the pattern to the fabric as he cut the design out.

But you don’t have to pay for the commercial weights! Here is the super simple solution:  ROCKS!!

Last summer when we were camping near the Cherokee reservation in Western North Carolina, we were playing in this gorgeous, wide, rocky river, and I found the most beautiful flat stones.  A light dawned, and I borrowed a handful of my favorites to take home, scrub down, and use to hold the tissue patterns that I make to my fabric.  Makes cutting easy, and pretty! Have a look:

cutting out stretchy pinafores for Asheville Contemporary Dance Theater's Spring show

cutting out stretchy pinafores for Asheville Contemporary Dance Theater's Spring show

pretty, round, flat, helpful rocks

pretty, round, flat, helpful rocks

Let me know if that tip helps anyone!

2 Responses to “All Natural Pattern Weights”


  1. 1 Marcy May 5, 2009 at 3:17 am

    I like this idea. Pinning takes forever. Tape gets thrown away. I’ll have to find some nice rocks and try them next time I have to cut something out.


Leave a Reply

