String Games

jacob's ladder

jacob's ladder

Remember this?! My kids have gone string game crazy.  Good thing I have a huge stash of yarn! They are cutting lengths and I am knotting them up as fast as I can.  I also spend lots of time untangling string.  But that’s a job I actually like, it’s kind of soothing.  It reminds me of untangling my grandfather’s fishing line on Cape Cod in the summers.

Their whole school seems to be joining in the renaissance, you should see the pick up line after school, strings everywhere! It’s really sweet. Here’s some snap shots of some of the things they’ve been making, I know you’ll recognize them.

cup and saucer

cup and saucer...

...which leads into la Tour Eiffel

...which leads into la Tour Eiffel

these are the only ones Declan knows right now, but boy is he lightning fast! He is so proud to know how to do stuff the girls do.  After I said goodnight this evening, he was sitting up in bed doing cup and saucer over and over in the dark.  I just checked and he still has the string curled up in his little sleepy hand.

witches broom

witches broom

Gertie picks a banana from the bunch

Gertie picks a banana from the bunch

star

star

cat's whiskers

cat's whiskers

The good stuff just keeps coming back around!

0 Responses to “String Games”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

