gluten free cornbread

You would think by the name of it that “corn bread” would be gluten free.  No so! Almost every recipe I know of has wheat flour in it to bind the corn together.  So I thought I’d give you my current favorite recipe for gluten free cornbread.

I've had this skillet since college. I just keep seasoning it with oil now and then, and I don't have to worry about teflon flaking into my food!

I've had this skillet since college. I just keep seasoning it with oil now and then, and I don't have to worry about teflon flaking into my food!

I adapted this recipe from one I got last summer when we went camping on the Cherokee reservation in western North Carolina.

Cornbread

1 1/2 cups buttermilk

2 eggs

1 Tablespoon sugar

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1 1/2 cups corn meal (I buy it in bulk from the local health food store)

1/2 cup gluten free flour mix *

1/4 cup melted butter

preheat oven to 425 degrees.

mix dry ingredients in a large bowl.  mix buttermilk and eggs together, and stir into dry ing.  stir in melted butter.  pour into a 9″ cast iron skillet coated with cooking spray (or a square pan works just fine, too, but it’s more fun to use a skillet – you’ll feel like an old homesteader!) Bake for about 25 minutes, or until golden brown.  cut into wedges and serve it up!

My family likes it with honey dripped all over it, but I like it plain.  It’s great the next morning split and toasted with butter on it.  You can also pour this batter into muffin tins and make corn muffins, which is fun.  sprinkle some grated cheddar cheese on top, then bake for about 15 minutes.  this is great if you have to get dinner on the table really fast.

*Here’s what I use for Gluten free flour mix.  This comes from an old Bette Hagman cookbook – the first gluten free cookbook I ever had.

2 c. white rice flour

2/3 c. potato starch flour

1/3 c. tapioca flour

Mix up a bunch of this in a canister and you will always have it on hand – it is a fairly good substitute for wheat flour in many recipes.  Alternatively, you could buy some gluten free all purpose flour mix right off the shelf.  I like Pamela’s or Bob’s red mill. Arrowhead mills is fine, too.

Make some cornbread tonight, with a pot of pinto or black beans.  A cheap, healthy, homemade dinner…

1 Response to “gluten free cornbread”


  1. 1 Aunt Jayne March 11, 2009 at 8:48 pm

    I can’t wait to try your recipe – it sounds yummy!
    I, too, have recipes on my blog – check it out some time.
    There is a really good recipe for cornbread lunch that you might enjoy.


Leave a Reply

