Frostbite 5K

Well, I’ll just take a moment to brag about my cute 10 year old who ran another race yesterday.

her feet don't even touch the ground!

her feet don't even touch the ground!

How does she do it? She asked us if she could run in this 5 K race near where we live, and so off we all went to let her run.  She is a marvel to watch.  I have run 2 5Ks with her in the past, and it amazes me how fast she runs.  She picks a pace and stays with it, uphills, downhills, whenever – it’s like she has a little metronome inside of her.  Jeff ran with her this time – it’s hard to give my spot up but it’s nice for her to run with dad, too.  We had snow yesterday, but the sun came out and it was a beautiful, brisk day.

finish line! look closely at that time - 26 minutes?! at age 10?!

finish line! look closely at that time - 26 minutes?! at age 10?!

run 3 miles, eat a big cookie

run 3 miles, eat a big cookie

just a side note, see these cute fleece leggings? those were mine for years but never fit right, so recently I recut them to her measurements and they are perfect running tights! I love repurposing old clothes.  The fleece jacket is made from scraps from my friend Alicia's fleece blanket business.

just a side note, see these cute fleece leggings? those were mine for years but never fit right, so recently I recut them to her measurements and they are perfect running tights! I love repurposing old clothes. The fleece jacket is made from scraps from my friend Alicia's fleece blanket business.

dsc_00621So this last picture shows a little handmade mug made by a local artist and it was her trophy for winning first place in her age group.  I’m amazed by her speed, and so grateful that she has found something that she is good at and truly likes to do, but do you know what makes me most proud? When we got home yesterday evening, she was looking at this simple little mug, and said “mom, I just love this prize, it is so much more special than a cheap plastic trophy.”

That’s my girl!! Go handmade!! I’m so lucky to have not only a fast girl, but an appreciator of the arts as well.

She never once gloated about her 1st place finish, either…..

1 Response to “Frostbite 5K”


  1. 1 emily February 23, 2009 at 11:53 pm

    Go, Holt! That is so awesome! I hope to get running so that I can join Mia in a 5K,too! I love the trophy, too. 🙂


Leave a Reply

