a sweet valentines weekend

conversation hearts!

conversation hearts!

So ever since I had 2 girls, Valentines Day has been pretty fun around here.  We just get into the pinkness of it all! On Saturday we made our (once a year because they are sort of a pain to make) gluten free sugar cookies, made pink frosting, scrounged around in the cabinets and found not only the red food coloring we needed for the frosting, but also pink and colored sprinkles! I don’t know why, but I bought those conversation hearts this year, like I do every year.  Have you had one of those lately? They are terrible! But I never remember, and I assure you, I will forget next year and buy them again.  Here’s the decorating:

yummy

yummy

I love these fingers...

I love these fingers...

these fingers, too

these fingers, too

I’ll also show you the outfits I made the kids this year.  This tradition started with my mom – one morning when I was 6 or 7 I remember waking up and hung on the end of our bunk beds were 2 little dresses, one was red with white hearts, and the other white with red hearts for me and my sister.  When I had 2 girls, I started the tradition back up, and my girls find it just as exciting as I did.  Here they are:

Ryland is my pink girl.  this wrap pinafore is pink and white seersucker, and the leggings are recut from a new lands end dress I found at goodwill this summer.

Ryland is my pink girl. this wrap pinafore is pink and white seersucker, and the leggings are recut from a new lands end dress I found at goodwill this summer.

pocket detail

pocket detail

Holt really needed new jeans, and she is very hard to shop for as nothing seems to fit her skinny waist.  somehow I got these jeans pretty close, I wish I had taken a detail pic of the back pockets to show you, I think they are super cool and, unbelievably, my 10 year old agrees.  The tshirt is recut from a goodwill tshirt, and then I did the fabric paint and embroidered flower on the front:

she likes it! she likes it!

she likes it! she likes it!

Declan gets a stripy boat neck T, recut from 2 salvation army tshirts, and a new pair of much needed jeans.  these kids grow like weeds.

Declan gets a stripy boat neck T, recut from 2 salvation army tshirts, and a new pair of much needed jeans. these kids grow like weeds.

We had a pretty warm weekend and the kids were outside a lot.  Here are some activities:

I love this photo.  They are, of course acorn bowls filled with food for the fairies. Looks so inviting!

I love this photo. They are, of course, acorn bowls filled with food for the fairies. Looks so inviting!

At the climbing wall near our place.  Pretty pink dresses dont slow her down! (day 2 on the dress, you'll notice.  I'm supposed to wash it tonight so she can wear it to school tomorrow)

At the climbing wall near our place. Pretty pink dresses don't slow her down! (day 2 on the dress, you'll notice. I'm supposed to wash it tonight so she can wear it to school tomorrow)

he works so hard.  This has been his favorite place lately.

he works so hard. This has been his favorite place lately.

always, always unconventional

always, always unconventional

sigh. so cute.

sigh. so cute.

ok, here I'm just playing with the camera and the light.  But I love the sun on her hair and her cute new earrings.

ok, here I'm just playing with the camera and the light. But I love the sun on her hair and her cute new earrings.

thanks nonnie and paka for the pretty valentine's bouquet!

thanks nonnie and paka for the pretty valentine's bouquet!

Somehow, I just love this little collection of photos.  Hope your weekend was just as sweet…

2 Responses to “a sweet valentines weekend”


  1. 1 emily February 17, 2009 at 12:01 am

    Great photos! I love the kids’ new outfits, too. Looks like you all had a sweet holiday weekend!

  2. 2 kathleen bryant February 17, 2009 at 12:29 am

    As always, so impressed by all you do! Glad you are carrying on the tradition of valentines outfits, my sewing machine is getting rusty. And by the way, I love conversation hearts.


Leave a Reply

