a better snow day!

Another snow day down south.  I promised myself I wouldn’t get all bent out of shape this time, so I changed my attitude and decided to have fun with it.  There wasn’t much snow, but there was enough for sledding with plastic sleds (our gorgeous wooden toboggan from our New England days needs REAL snow to work).  Look at this great hill we have! dsc_0185

most of the neighborhood was braving the cold!

most of the neighborhood was braving the cold!

I'm cold, mama!

I'm cold, mama!

He could do this aaallllll day...

He could do this aaallllll day...

Then we came home and I started a fire in our living room.  All that kindling we collected last week really came in handy!  So we sat by the fire and made valentines for hours.  It’s a nice feeling to know that we got a head start on that project.  The kids were really into it! We have always made our own valentines, but this year I found these (reissued) vintage punch out valentines on line at Amazon, and they were so inexpensive and so cute, that I bought a bunch.  They are easy enough for the kids to assemble all by themselves, which is always a plus. Here we are:

in our long underwear after shedding the wet snow clothes

in our long underwear after shedding the wet snow clothes

I just can not get enough of these cute little hands working away

I just can not get enough of these cute little hands working away

same thing - these hands!

same thing - these hands!

remember these? they are so cute - originally created in 1945

remember these? they are so cute - originally created in 1945

is there anything better than a little fire on a cold day? It forces me to slow down and stay put.

is there anything better than a little fire on a cold day? It forces me to slow down and stay put.

So, I got absolutely no work done today, and that will be tough tomorrow, but at least we all relaxed today.

0 Responses to “a better snow day!”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

