donating hair

I’ve had long hair my whole life, but when my 9 year old daughter donated hers last year to locks of love, I decided the least I could do was donate also.  So it’s been over a year since I got my hair cut, and I couldn’t take it anymore, so on friday I finally took the plunge and cut the ponytails cut off!  Here’s a before photo:

oh, that is just too much hair for my body.

oh, that is just too much hair for my body.

After this picture, I went to my favorite salon to have it cut.  If you live in Asheville, you should get your hair cut at my friend’s place, The Blue Ribbon in West Asheville.  She has these haircutting chairs that are from the 1920’s, they are so beautiful I wish I took a picture. You feel a lot of history sitting in those seats! Here is what she took off:

4 ponytails in a bag.  kind of wierd, isn't it?

4 ponytails in a bag. kind of wierd, isn't it?

Surprisingly, I wasn’t worried or nervous at all – it felt just fine.  I decided to donate it to Pantene’s Beautiful Lengths program.  I did some research and locks of love donates to kids with alopecia, and beautiful lengths donates to women with cancer, so since my daughter did locks of love, I decided that I’d give to women and then between us, we’d have everyone covered! So here I am with short hair for the first time in my life –

dsc_0154I feel free….

1 Response to “donating hair”


  1. 1 emily February 3, 2009 at 11:24 pm

    Wow!! You are one brave woman! You have the most beautiful hair. How nice to be willing to share it. Your haircut looks great! I love that light feeling after a major hair cut. Congratulations!


Leave a Reply

