pretty darn good gluten free brownies

I forgot to take a photo to show you, so maybe tomorrow I’ll have to make another batch! But, I have been searching for a good brownie recipe for years that is gluten free, doesn’t fall apart, and tastes like a real brownie.  So yesterday I spent (too much) time on line searching for recipes, and none of them seemed perfect to me.  Then it occured to me, why dont I just make one up using the best ideas from everything I read, and that’s when I remembered the brownie recipe that we used growing up.  Now, this was my sister’s specialty, these and jello.  She made these a lot, quickly, after dinner.  Of course they were full of wheat, but I remember that they were simple and perfect.  So, I dug around and found my little folder where I keep old recipes, and what do you know? there the recipe was written on a pink piece of scrap paper from who knows how long ago! When my husband was in grad school, and we lived in Colorado, I remember teaching him how to make these so he could satisfy his daily chocolate cravings, and I would watch longingly as he ate the whole pan full of wheat and chocolate.

So, back to 2009, and the recipe… I tweaked it a bit to make it gluten free, but it really tastes like the ones I remember.  Here it is…

Brownies

6 Tablespoons butter

2 Squares (oz.) unsweetened chocolate

3/4 cup sugar

1 egg

1/2 cup white rice flour

3 Tablespoons potato starch flour

1 Tablespoon tapioca flour

1/2 teaspoon baking powder

1/4 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon vanilla

1/2 cup chopped walnuts

1/4 cup mini chocolate chips

preheat oven to 350 degrees.

melt the butter and chocolate in a heavy saucepan on low heat.  Once it is melted, take off the heat and stir in the sugar, then the egg, then the vanilla.  stir the dry ing. together, then stir into the choc. mixture.  then, stir in the walnuts and ch.chips (these 2 were not in the recipe I remember as a kid, but are so yummy I had to add them).  pour into an 8×8 pan coated with cooking spray.  bake for 20 minutes.

now, here’s a little trick – when you take the pan out of the oven, put it into a tray that you’ve put ice and water in, and let the bottom of the pan rest on that for a bit until the brownies are cooled down.  this makes the brownies really fudgy.  If you just cool them on the counter, they’ll be a bit more cakey.

yes, I’ll definitely have to try these again tomorrow just to make sure this recipe is perfect 🙂  You should try them, too!

3 Responses to “pretty darn good gluten free brownies”


  1. 1 auntjayne March 6, 2009 at 1:29 pm

    Thank you, thank you, thank you!!!!!
    I have tried several brownie mixes and recipes and can’t find one I like. I am going to try this one today. Brownies are my favourite thing.
    I also have recipes on my blog. Check it out
    glutenfreewithauntjayne

  2. 3 auntjayne March 20, 2009 at 8:10 am

    I am going to try to make these on my next set of days off. (Mon. to Thurs. next week) I will definately let you know. 🙂


Leave a Reply

