peanut butter cookies

Look at these 7 year old hands!  my kids feel so great when they have made the treats themselves!

Look at these 7 year old hands! my kids feel so great when they have made the treats themselves!

one of my favorite things to do is to bake.  It’s such a comfort thing for me – I loved it when I was a kid, too.  My parents taught us early to make the things that we wanted, and there were always plenty of ingredients around.  I remember glass jars of sugar and flour, and huge bags of walnuts and sesame seeds.  So, when I was diagnosed with Celiac disease when I was 20, we just re-outfitted the kitchen with gluten free ingredients, and continued baking.  (Ok, it wasn’t quite that easy, but it was the only choice!)  The first experiments where disastrously funny.  I’ll never forget the ginger snaps my dad made with brown rice flour that had to be slammed down onto the tile counter to break them into pieces small enough to bite!  They were hard as rocks, and required a long soak in a cup of tea.

Over the years, my gluten free baking has gotten significantly better, and I have experimented with many wonderful flours that give great results, but here, I’m going to share a simple recipe that contains no flour at all.  My sister gave me this recipe last summer when we were on vacation with our families at a lake side cottage, and we had very little baking ingredients with us, but the late night craving for something sweet was kicking in.

The kids made them (mostly) themselves yesterday during our snow day, when we were taking a break from the inauguration festivities on the radio and TV.

Peanut butter cookies:

1 cup peanut butter (I use the natural kind, creamy)

1cup sugar

1egg

mix it all together, then if you want, stir in some mini chocolate chips (about 1/2 cup), or scatter a few bigger chocolate chips on top.

shape the dough into little balls (walnut sized – they hold together better if they are on the small side), then using the bottom of a glass dipped in sugar, flatten the cookies just a little bit.  keep dipping the glass into the sugar in between flattening each cookie so they are all dusted with pretty sugar crystals.

bake at 350 for about 10 minutes, cool on wire racks.

10 year old hands flattening the cookies with a sugared glass

10 year old hands flattening the cookies with a sugared glass

Hmmm, I think I’d go better get a couple from the kitchen right now! Hopefully there are still some left in the cookie tin…..

0 Responses to “peanut butter cookies”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

