a walk in the woods

It was only about 10 degrees this morning, but beautifully sunny and clear.  It seemed to take forever to get bundled up in long underwear, mittens, scarves, etc, but bundle up we did, and out we went on a mission.  The kids complained bitterly, but the minute we started down the road, they forgot their troubles and perked up.  Our mission was to gather kindling for our little fireplace! We had 2 cardboard boxes gathered from the attic from our last move, and we headed out to the huge brush pile that is near where we live.  Here we are…

Heading down the road - The water at the horse pasture was frozen solid!

Heading down the road - The water at the horse pasture was frozen solid!

climbing up the brush pile to start filling the boxes

climbing up the brush pile to start filling the boxes

happy to be outside!

happy to be outside!

boxes are filled, and hats and mittens are shed

boxes are filled, and hats and mittens are shed

Me! the hat is one I made for my dad for christmas but it came out too small, and I'm all wrapped up in the pretty wool scarf my folks brought me from Ireland years ago.

Me! the hat is one I made for my dad for christmas but it came out too small, and I'm all wrapped up in the pretty wool scarf my folks brought me from Ireland years ago.

the brush pile morphed into a palace.  this is the throne room, which is next to the ball room!

the brush pile morphed into a palace. this is the throne room, which is next to the ball room!

We ended up spending 2 hours out at this old brush pile! Declan became the squirrel king, Ryland was the squirrel princess, and Holt was some other form of princess who just so happened to have an Australian accent!  There was a ball in the ball room which I was lucky enough to be invited to, and the 4 of us danced out in the woods to imaginary music.   This is my kids at their best – cooperative, enthusiastic, creative.  I love this…

0 Responses to “a walk in the woods”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

