frosting…

so I am a world class putterer.  I’m not sure that’s even a word, but I can putter around better than anyone I know, except for my dad, who would get the gold, but I am a close second.  I like to roam about my world, starting little projects, maybe finishing them, getting interupted by my 3 crazy kids, going for runs, baking fancy desserts that none of us really need but love so much, making dresses, sketching, maybe do some dishes, and on and on.   I’m starting this blog to pull it all together.  Originally, it was going to be all about my design business, Hazel Anne.  That’s where I make lovely, lively clothing for women and girls.  But my business and my life are so intertwined, that there really is no separating it out.  So, because I chose today to start my blog (january 1st just came too fast!) I’ll show you one thing that I did today.  Here’s a photo:mini chocolate cupcakesWow! aren’t they cute little cupcakes?  one thing that is central to my life on a daily basis, and that you should know about me if you are reading this blog, is that I have celiac disease, which sounds big and scary, but just means that my body attacks itself if I eat gluten. So, there will be lots of Gluten Free recipes nestled in from time to time, because I am always experimenting with exotic flours to replace the standard wheat flour.  So, these little gems came from a recipe I adapted from a boxed mix, which might be cheating, but when the mixes go on sale, I buy them for times like this when you have a party to go to, and you don’t want to make just another bowl of hummus, so you make cake! the mix is from the Gluten Free Pantry, which has been a staple in our family for a long time.  they make great mixes that are really easy.  So it’s the old fashioned cake mix, but I add 1/2 cup cocoa powder to the mix to make it chocolate, and use coffee as the liquid instead of milk.  Also, I added some mini chocolate chips because, well, why not? Here’s a recipe for the frosting which I kind of made up, so I’ll try to recreate it for you want to try:

chocolate icing:

1/4 c. evaporated milk

3T butter

dash of salt

1/4 c. cocoa powder

melt this all together in a medium saucepan at medium low heat, then stir in

2 cups of powdered sugar, and 1 teaspoon vanilla.

mix it all up with a wooden spoon, it will be really runny, but just pour it on your warm cakes, and it will harden up, but still be all glossy and pretty.

Try it!

1 Response to “frosting…”


  1. 1 jmettee January 10, 2009 at 10:53 pm

    Those are some darn good looking cupcakes!


Leave a Reply

